The Trustees of the James and Thelma Connors Foundation are pleased to announce that fifty Medford residents were each awarded a $3,000 scholarship to help further their educational goals. The scholarship program sponsored and funded by the Foundation is administered by Scholarship America.


The recent high school graduates attended nine different high schools including, Medford High School, The Cambridge School of Weston, Arlington Catholic, Buckingham Browne & Nichols, St. Clement High, Malden Catholic, Boston College High School, Matignon High School and Mystic Valley Regional Charter School..


The Foundation’s Class of 2017, its first, includes the following recipients and the colleges that they are planning to attend: John Albanese-Trinity College, Emeline Antunes-Boston University, Casey Avenell-UMass-Lowell, Elissa Bacon- Mt. Ida,

George Bailey-Boston College, Maya Barnes-Spelman College, Kayla Beardslee-Emerson College, Georgia Bowder-Newton – Harvard College, Emily Brady- Allegheny College, Albert Cangiano-Regis College, Michael Center-UMass-Lowell, Jackie Chen-UMass-Amherst, Abigail Cline-Quinnipiac University, Emma Czwakiel-University of New Hampshire, Lyndsey DeMarco-Mass College of Pharmacy, Frederick DeNisco-University of British Columbia, Ailish Fallon-University of Pittsburg, Timothy Fistori-UMass-Amherst, Natalie Giurleo-Emmanuel College, Colleen Hardy-University of New Hampshire, Matthew Hirl-Brandeis University, Kathleen Kumar-Emmanuel College,

Carson K Rossi-University of Vermont, Ashley Laroche-Westfield State University,

Mary Cara Listro-Boston College, Zachary Maffeo-SUNY Syracuse, Lexie Massa-Middlebury College, Abigail McCarthy-UMass-Amherst, Andre Melo-UMass-Amherst,

Gautam Mitra-Colby College, Samantha Morin-Bridgewater State University, Andrew

Murphy-Fairfield University, Tyler Nguyen-Northeastern University, Robert Nicotera-

Merrimack College, Iragi Nkera- Yale University, Saida Osman-UMass-Boston, Ryan Palmer-UMass-Lowell, Michael Paternese-Merrimack College, Lucia Pellegrini-Rhode Island College, Frederick Popken-Tufts University, Gino Ramasci-Bryant University,

Megan Ricciardi-UMass-Amherst, Abigail Rowe-Bob Jones University, Monica Royo-

Quinnipiac University, Lydia Ryan-Norwich University, Anna Santos-UMass-Amherst,

Zarnaab Shafiq-Simmons College, Molly Stroud-Dartmouth College, Nicole Trainor-Rivier University and Leena Ziane-Northeastern University.


Thirty-three of the scholarship recipients along with family members were able to attend an award reception held recently at Montvale Plaza where their academic achievements were honored by the Foundation.






The James and Thelma Connors Foundation was founded and funded by life-long Medford resident and Korean War Veteran, James Connors who named the Foundation after himself and his sister Thelma, neither of whom ever married. Mr. Connors passed away in January, 2016 at age 89, his sister Thelma predeceased him. The Foundation was established to provide financial aid to charitable organizations and to provide scholarship assistance to Medford youth who planned to continue their education upon graduation from high school. The Foundation is administered by trustees, John R. Granara, Stephen J. Andrew and Michael J. McGlynn. Additional photographs from the awards reception and further information regarding Mr. Connors and the Scholarship Program maybe found at the Foundation’s website: jtconnorsfoundation.org……

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s