BOSTON MAYOR WALSH ANNOUNCES 2017 COFFEE HOUR SERIES


BOSTON – Tuesday, April 4, 2017 – Mayor Martin J. Walsh and the Boston Parks and Recreation Department will host the 18th Annual Neighborhood Coffee Hour Series in local parks citywide from April 24 to July 20.  
“Coffee Hours give me another opportunity to meet with residents, answer their questions and discuss all that the City of Boston has to offer,” said Mayor Walsh. “Our parks provide a great backdrop for conversation and I look forward to hearing from more of my constituents throughout the spring and summer.”
The Neighborhood Coffee Hours give residents a unique opportunity to speak directly with Mayor Walsh about open space and other needs in their neighborhoods. Through these discussions and a suggestion box at each site, Mayor Walsh looks forward to hearing how the City of Boston can improve upon local parks, public areas and city services.
All participants will enjoy coffee and breakfast treats provided by Dunkin’ Donuts and fresh fruit from Whole Foods Market. In addition, each family in attendance will receive a flowering plant grown in the city’s greenhouses as a gift from Mayor Walsh. Residents at the event will also be eligible to win raffle prizes from Dunkin’ Donuts. Information will be available on City programs from the Boston Public Library, Boston Public Schools, Boston Police Department, and Boston Centers for Youth & Families.  
All coffee hours will be held from 9:30 a.m. to 10:30 a.m. Dates for the full schedule of Mayor Walsh’s 2017 Neighborhood Coffee Hours are below. Locations are weather permitting unless otherwise noted. Coffee Hours being held in conjunction with park openings are also noted.
Monday, April 24

Victory Gardens

20 Park Drive, Fenway
Wednesday, May 3

Myrtle Street Playground

50 Myrtle Street, Beacon Hill
Thursday, May 4

Tai Tung Park

110 Tyler Street, Chinatown (with opening celebration)
Tuesday, May 9

Christopher Columbus Park

110 Atlantic Avenue, North End
Tuesday, May 16

Fallon Field

910 South Street, Roslindale (with opening celebration)
Thursday, May 18 

Iacono Playground

150 Readville Street, Hyde Park
Tuesday, May 23 

A Street Park

135-141 A Street, Fort Point (acceptance celebration)
Thursday, May 25

John Harvard Mall

29 Harvard Street, Charlestown (with opening celebration)
Tuesday, May 30

Almont Park

40 Almont Street, Mattapan
Friday, June 2

Paris Street Playground

115 Paris Street, East Boston
Tuesday, June 6

McConnell Park

30 Denny Street, Dorchester
Thursday, June 22

Lt. Edward Walsh and Firefighter Michael Kennedy Tot Lot

369 LaGrange Street, West Roxbury
Wednesday, June 28 

Medal of Honor Park

775 East First Street, South Boston (with opening celebration)
Friday, June 30  

Brighton Common

30 Chestnut Hill Ave, Allston/Brighton
Friday, July 7

Mozart Street Playground

10 Mozart Street, Jamaica Plain
Tuesday, July 11 

Marcella Playground

260 Highland Street, Roxbury
Thursday, July 13 

Mother’s Rest at Four Corners

410 Washington Street, Dorchester
Tuesday, July 18

Monsignor Reynolds Playground

5 Msgr. Reynolds Way, South End (with opening celebration)
Thursday, July 20

Commonwealth Ave. Mall

Back Bay (Boston Woman’s Memorial)

Between Gloucester St. and Fairfield St

For more information and updates on possible weather cancellations, please contact the Boston Parks and Recreation Department at (617) 635-4505 or on Facebook or Twitter @bostonparksdept.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s